Slacker

That would be me.

But hey! Who cares? I’m not getting paid to do this, so stop complaining. This is my blog.

I’ve been reading a lot of great blogs and I think all of them are blogs that are generally about the lives of the authors and are usually heavy on the photos. Which is great because those writers all have interesting lives or at least have an interesting way of putting it and take great photos…So now I wonder, should I write about my life? I kind of do, in a way, but most of my work is reflections or thoughts on my life, not strictly My Life. Plus, my life is interesting to me, but I doubt it’s that crazy-cool enough that the internet wants to pay close attention. Another good point is that I don’t take pictures. I don’t even own a camera. My phone’s camera is not good (to say the least) and I wouldn’t know what to take a picture of anyway. Pictures are the icing on the cake of Life Blogs (as I call them in my head); as long as the pictures are nice, the words could be lame or even non-existent! I really like photos, but I don’t have the mind that would say, “Sam! Photo op!” at a good place to take a picture.

Also, I already keep a journal. I get all my life down multiple times a week and I don’t feel like writing it all over again. And finally, my life is kind of personal. I have friends and family who read this and while I’m sure they’d be flattered to see their name or story on the world wide web (“I’m famous!!”) and I enjoy writing about the people who mean that much to me, it’s kind of personal to be broadcasting on the internet. It makes me cringe a little when I read a friend’s blog or a blog I frequent and they include personal information or even information that might upset somebody. So I try to keep myself a little vague.

As all of these thoughts swirl around my head, I just avoid writing altogether rather than experiment. It’s just like my guitar practice: when I don’t know what to work, or I haven’t practiced in a long long time, I avoid it so I don’t have to deal with it.

Which is, like, the worst thing to do, ever.

So, it’s time to fill you in.

* * *

Well, first off, I’ve been really slacking on the books I’ve read. Here’s what I got:

  • #21 Catcher in the Rye (JD Salinger) – read it for school, possibly the best book I’ve ever read in school ever. I LOVE that book. Holden is great. Also, this book I will remember as the book that changed my reading. I realized during that book what literature really is: a message, not characters and a plot. Plot is almost unimportant. It’s the fine details that the author uses to point out his views on humanity. Which is, like, marvelous.
  • #22 Of Mice and Men (John Steinbeck) – read it for school. I hated it when I first read it, but after my teacher explained it, I appreciated it a little more. This is the book I realized point of view and setting are equally as important as everything else.
  • #23 King Leopold’s Ghost (Adam Hochschild) – read it for school. Was REALLY hard to get through because it is completely and utterly a history textbook. It was a little interesting because it showed how badly colonized countries were/are treated and how much we don’t know about them – other than that, I can’t believe I’m still alive after dragging my eyes over all those pages.
  • #24 Zen Guitar (Philip Toshio Sudo) – My guitar teacher gave this to me because I am a spaz and this book helped me become less of a spaz. If you are a guitar player, read this book. It’s great.
  • #25 Forks Over Knives (I don’t remember if this even had an author; I think it was compiled by a bunch of people) – This is a really interesting, factual book about our diet. It has strong evidence proving meat and dairy products are not good for you. It promotes a plant based diet, saying that animal products are linked to health concerns sweeping the nation like heart disease and cancer. It also has fabulous recipes that I have been trying. I find a lot of the evidence in the book enlightening and invigorating and I would like to give the plant-based diet a go.
  • #26 Oh My Gods (Philip Freeman) – Greek mythology! The stories are really complicated and often confusing, but they are extremely intriguing and I will have to further my research on them.
  • #27 Steal Like An Artist (Austin Kleon) – A book I will recommend to any creative mind I come across. Another book that helps a spaz (me) become less of a spaz (yay!). Writers, painters, musicians, sculptors, architects, chefs, any art form will benefit from these tips. I feel less spazzy already!
  • #28 How Music Works (John Powell) – the science behind music. Was interesting, I forget a lot of what I read (so. much. science.), and sometimes it felt like Powell was poking fun at musicians (specifically: jazz; more specifically: guitar; even more specifically: soloing), but overall it was cool and I learned a lot.
  • #29 The Great Gatsby (F. Scott Fitzgerald) – Ooooooh, yes. I like this book. A lot. This is my first book as a born-again reader; I finally read the WHOLE book – the themes, the symbols, the settings, the characters, the everything! I still will have to read it all again so it’s not chopped up like it is when you read a book in school.

The other thing I’m horrified that I didn’t report is I bought a new guitar! (About 2 months ago) It’s a purrrrrrrty Wildkat….

Isn't she lovely....

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Saved up all me money by meself. This was a 20 before 20 goal! And I did it!
(Speaking of 20 before 20, I’m also growing strawberries.)

Now, I guess, we’re all caught up. Hopefully I won’t slack off anymore.

2 thoughts on “Slacker

Leave a Reply

