books and stuff

I have some books to report to you! I’ve read:

  • The Hot Zone by Richard Preston (non fiction) #17
  • Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut (fiction) #18
  • I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusack (fiction) #19
  • The Crucible by Arthur Miller (a play) #20

Three of the four were for school (Hot Zone, Cat’s Cradle and Crucible). Let me just tell you: I hated The Hot Zone. Not because it was badly written, boring, or nonfiction; it was because it was so gross! Having Ebola doesn’t sound like fun at all and I actually skipped over some parts because a human virus bomb is just not my cup of tea…At all. On the other hand, I loved Cat’s Cradle! It was a summer reading requirement (Ah, yes, I am aware that it is not the summer right now, but hey, I didn’t have English class until the second semester, so why read it until I had to?) and I devoured it! Kurt Vonnegut is just so cool. However, he uses a peculiar vocabulary and I still have an entire notebook page of new words I have to look up!

Next up, I Am the Messenger. Let me just say first: I love Markus Zusack’s other book The Book Thief. It is my FAVORITE book! I love it so dearly, I could die. Plus, it has undefined German words and phrases thrown in that I knew (!) and it made me feel sehr cool. But I was disappointed with this book. I only read it because a) someone directed my attention toward it during bio class, giving pretty high praise and b) I LOVED Zusack’s other book. It was….just….lame. In the end, it wasn’t too bad, but it stumbled in the beginning. You know what it was? It just felt like it was trying to hard to be deep, yet was really shallow anyway. Not cool.

Lastly, The Crucible! We read it aloud in class and I read Tituba’s and Ezekiel Cheever’s parts. When we were reading it in class, WOO! I had trouble grasping it. I just thought it was a dumb historical story. I really did. But then, after being assigned an essay on its theme, I forced myself to reread it because, in truth, I did NOT know what was going on. Upon the second reading, I actually didn’t mind it too much. There were a lot of nice quotes and messages in it like a novel has.

I have a ton more books to read that I hope to get done soon and report back to you! What are you all reading?

2 thoughts on “books and stuff

  1. if you haven’t already, read Catcher in the Rye. ohmygod, best thing ever. it’s a crime that not all the English classes read it.

  2. I was Mary Warren in The Crucible! I quite enjoyed her. And, on the contrary, I hated Cat’s Cradle but loved The Hot Zone! Funny. I hope to begin the fanatically-raved-about series The Hunger Games after I finish rereading an old Sharon Creech favorite, thanks for asking! :D

Leave a Reply

