I did have a whiney post planned, but I’ll save that for another time

Yes, I did have a downer post lined up to be written, but then I got an idea that was a little more cheerful! I was just thinking about how people, me included, don’t celebrate the small victories anymore. But, when we don’t see the greatness in accomplishing anything, let alone something small, when are we ever going to be satisfied? That, right there, is my problem. I keep looking for a huge achievement to come rolling in, for some wildly enthusiastic emotion to overcome me when I make a huge leap or bound (when I’m never really wildly emotional).

What really matters, however, was that every day, every week, every month I make improvements. And when do you see me acknowledging that? Never. Most important to me is music right now, and all I can think about is how I’m always to scared to improvise for the class or I’m not in Jazz 1, I’m in Jazz 2 or I can’t always make time to practice every day and beat myself up for it. You see, though: what I miss every day is the fact that I am in a jazz band for the first time ever with only two years of experience! And no one who doesn’t know me personally noticed I am two years young! I played on stage last Wednesday in my first concert with any jazz band EVER. I know more and I’m way better than before. And that’s what really counts. So what if that kid in my class has been playing for even less time than me and can improvise for the class? He took lessons at an expensive school that turns out talented musicians. I didn’t.

Which of YOU’RE small victories are worth celebrating?

One thought on “I did have a whiney post planned, but I’ll save that for another time

  1. Great post Sam!!
    You’re right for me too. Missing the little things while focusing on not getting the big ones.
    I’m right there with you on small improvements with jazz each week. The Sunday thing is actually starting to get a little more comfortable and enjoyable. Even though I don’t know most of the songs I can work my way through.
    You are an inspiration to me, you’ve figured out more about life in 16 years than I have in 50.
    Thanks for being you.
    Daih

Leave a Reply

