The art of thinking

Here’s a sort of random thing I wrote while I was down the shore.

* * *

While force-feeding myself dreams one early morning at the beach, trying to fall back asleep, I stumbled upon my old, on-again-off-again friend, Thinking. Who got me thinking about thinking. I realized I do think a lot, and I actually quite love it. I love to think and love everything about thinking, too. Even though I sometimes complain about it consuming my life, Thinking and Thought, in general, intrigue me.

Then, I asked myself, if I love Thinking & Thought so much, why don’t I become a psychiatrist/psychologist/some sort of mind-related doctor? The age-old, wise elementary retort: If you love it so much, why don’t you marry it?

I began to answer myself:

You see, those jobs right there deal with the science of thinking. I love the art of thinking. Yes, there is a difference. I do not want to study Thought & Thinking, analyze them, probe them, catalog them, experiment with them…I just want to experience them. That is why I love to read diaries from historical events (shout out to Anne Frank), voice my opinion, and watch people’s reactions (to things like a World Cup win, or a really great surprise). It’s a further insight into their mind.

Does anyone else realize just how fantastic spontaneous thinking is as well? I’m fascinated by people who are hilarious on the spot, or freestyle rappers, or talented improvising musicians, or artists who can sit down and draw a masterpiece without any planning. That is truly impressive. It’s an art form in my opinion (hence: the title of this post). How do they get so good that they can do those things so well in a snap? This kind of quick, accurate thinking (or is it even thinking at all? OoOo…) became their second natures, either because they were thrust into situations requiring those skills or they really enjoy doing those things enough to nurture an extraordinary talent.

How is that comedian so quick on her feet?

How does that rapper come up with clever rhymes in the blink of an eye?

How can that musician improvise such an impressive solo and not falter?

How does an artist imagine all of those details all at once?

That, my friends, is the Art of Thinking. And I’d much rather witness it (or be a part of it) than study it.

One thought on “The art of thinking

  1. I agree–it’s incredible how some extraordinary people can create something beautiful, be it music, writing, or visual art, out of thin air. This is a great, insightful post. And I see you’re a fellow Anne Frank devotee! I’ll be sure to come back to your blog for more.

Leave a Reply

